Home » About Us

Catonsville Rails to Trails

Welcome to Catonsville Rails to Trails

About Us

Great picture of trail


The mission of the Catonsville Rails to Trails, Inc. (CRTT) is to unite individuals, businesses and organizations in the community around the common theme of promoting healthy living through hiking/biking trail enhancements in the greater Catonsville area.


The primary purpose of CRTT is to convert all the abandoned rail and trolley lines in Catonsville into bike/hike trails and make connections with trails in neighboring communities.  CRTT also promotes walk-able neighborhood and safe pedestrian access for all residential and business communities in the Catonsville area.

Our History

Catonsville Rails to Trails, Inc. is an organization formed in September 1998 (and incorporated in March 1999 as a 501c3 non-profit corporation) by local citizens who wished to provide Catonsville residents with the opportunity to safely bicycle and walk right through the center of Catonsville.


The purpose of the Catonsville Rails to Trails, Inc. (CRTT) shall be to unite individuals in the community around the common theme of promoting hiking/biking trail enhancements in the greater Catonsville area. The objectives shall be:

  • Converting old, abandoned railroads and streetcar lines into new trails that can be used for recreational purposes.  Currently, CRTT is building the Catonsville Short Line Railroad trail into a walking and bicycling path.
  • Maintain and enhance the #8 Streetcar Path
  • Promote the linage of existing and proposed trails to support the safe and effective use of the trails as a network providing connectivity to neighborhoods of Catonsville and to the surrounding areas.
  • Preserve the history of the railroad and streetcar routes that once served Catonsville.

Steve Sprecher and Earl Hoch load stumps and logs into a 30 yard dumpster.


What has CRTT done in Catonsville?

  • #8 Streetcar Path — With strong community support, including the Old Catonsville Neighborhood Association, CRTT restored (1996) and paved (2008) the #8 Streetcar Path in the 1600 block of Frederick Road (next to Matthew#s Restaurant). CRTT continues to maintain the #8 Streetcar Path and the 1939 waiting shelter near Dutton Ave. (behind 7-Eleven) with frequent cleanup days.
  • Catonsville Short Line Trail — CRTT has acquired the right of way to the Short Line Trail, with over 2.2 miles of pathways. To date, CRTT has removed and recycled over 125 tons of scrap metal/rail and over 170 tons of debris. Portions of the trails have already been cleared and are walkable.
  • Bike Lanes — CRTT connected the #8 Streetcar Path to the #9 Trolley Trail with a marked bike lane and signage on Edmondson Avenue. CRTT worked with State Highway Administration to provide a bike lane and pedestrian friendly routes for new Frederick Road/beltway bridge.
  • Since 1999 — CRTT has been an advocate for trails and has brought over $700,000 in grant money to the Catonsville area.
  • Connection of UMBC to the greater Catonsville business district is an ongoing activity CRTT is pursuing, with UMBC as an active partner.
CRTT Board

Catonsville Rails To Trails Board Members attending the Ribbon Cutting include from left to right, Steve Sprecher, Joe Shryock, Steve Byron, Dave Horsch, Tom Ajluni, Tom Bagg, Maureen Sweeney Smith, Robin Farbaugh, Lindsay Thompson and Ray Bahr.


Catonsville Rails To Trails Board of Directors


Thomas Ajluni – CRTT President –  Director of Engineering – Hawk Institute for Space Sciences

David Horsch – CRTT Vice President – Fellow Engineer – Northrup Grumman

Lindsay Thompson – CRTT Treasurer – V.P., Engineering & Project Management – Colliers International

Thomas C. Bagg, III – CRTT Secretary – Systems Engineer/Technology Transfer – ASRC Research and Technology Solutions



Ray Bahr  Natural Resource Planner –  Maryland Dept. of the Environment

George Brookhart  Realtor – Maryland Residential Realty

Steve Byron  On-Line Help Developer – American Systems Corporation

Robin Farabaugh  Senior Lecturer and Associate Member of the Graduate Faculty – UMBC

Charles Murphy  Biologist, Electron Microscopy Unit – Agriculture Research Services, USDA

Joe Shryock   Contractor – Tanglewood LLC

Sheldon Smith  Senior Commercial Counsel – Motorola Law Department

Steven Sprecher - Past CRTT President



Maureen Sweeney Smith 

Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » appearance » Widgets » and move a widget into Advertise Widget Zone